Right before our big trip…

The hubs and I are coming upon our ONE year anniversary early next month and to celebrate, we are going to Asia. This is also our year delayed honeymoon as well. We actually fly out in a week so thus groceries are sparse and all perishable items MUST be used as I hate wasting/throwing away perfectly good food. One of the things that I needed to get rid of was milk. Neither of us are big milk drinkers but I do occasionally need it for a good recipe or two. In this case, I needed it for a Buttermilk Pound Cake so I had some left over that I needed to use ASAP. Luckily, I stumbled upon a recipe for Cardamom-Vanilla Scented Wedges but had to slightly modify it to use the ingredients that I had available. This was super easy to prep and took less than 10 minutes even with my substitute for the heavy cream. Since I was not about to buy heavy cream, I melted butter and used the rest of the milk (its 1/3 cup of butter plus 3/4 milk for every 1 cup of heavy cream). I also didn’t have cardamon so I used pumpkin spice instead since it has cinnamon and nutmeg in it and because its pumpkin season. As I poured the batter into the pan, you can very much smell the vanilla. Pictures and tasting to come shortly…

Pumpkin Spice & Vanilla Scented Wedged

adapted from Food & Wine

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon pumpkin spice

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 stick plus 2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cubed

1 1/4 cups heavy cream*

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, whisk the flour with the sugar, baking powder, cardamom and salt. Using your fingertips, blend in the butter until pea-size pieces form. Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla just until a dough forms. Pat the dough into a 1-inch-thick round, about 9 inches in diameter. Cut the into 12 equal wedges.
  2. Transfer to the prepared sheet and bake for 40 minutes, until golden. Transfer to a rack to cool slightly before serving.

*I subbed out for 1 cup of milk and 8 tbsp of butter

Leave a Reply

