tis the season for babies…

Like weddings, it seems that there is a prime season for babies too. A lot of friends are having their first (or second) babies this year which means of course baby showers. Yes, I am trying to join that band wagon too but that’s a different story and this isn’t that kind of post to my better half and I’s trials and tribulations on adding mini-me’s to our family. I will say that when people say you are never ready, that is so true but seriously in like a switch, I went from being very anti-baby to ok I am ready to sacrifice a few things such as sleep. Don’t get me wrong – I still refuse to hold  hands or let my friend’s kids touch me after they eat or have gross stuff on their hands… lol. BUT I’m ready. Who knows – if my dog can have similar habits and OCD moments like me, I’m sure a baby can too unless he or she takes after their father a bit too much. (JK Andrew).

Anyway, I digress. Back to the baby shower or showers to be exact, this is baby shower number 1 that happened at the end of last month and I am just very late to post. My friends (and also CF coach) did a dual Grand Gym Opening/baby shower so I offered to do a little baking. Btw if you live in Oakland and curious about Crossfit, Pacific Strength is the place to go! James is awesome and programs great WODs. Back to the shower, so the theme was a Mexican theme and one of the desserts needed to be gluten free. After a little research, I decided to make Mexican Spicy Hot Chocolate Cake, Churro Cupcakes, and Mexican Rice Pudding. The rice pudding was the gluten free. I have to say that I need to do more cakes to get my icing skills on and also need to bust out the pastry bag to do more piping instead of the lazy man way.

20160221_131413

For the Churro Cupcakes, I wish I also made actual churros too but frying is not a big thing for me. It was still a hit though. I had a friend eat like four of them! This was a interesting recipe because you actually glazed the cupcakes before putting on the icing.

20160220_150450

Recipe adapted from The Lady Behind the Curtain

Cupcakes

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups cake flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 3/4 cups sugar

4 large eggs, room temperature

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups milk

Cinnamon Sugar Crunchy Topping

4 tablespoons butter, melted

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

1 (8 ounce) cream cheese, softened

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 tablespoon milk (if desired)

Cupcakes:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners.
  3. Whisk together both flours, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.
  4. With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter and sugar until fluffy.
  5. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed.
  6. Beat in vanilla.
  7. Reduce speed to low.
  8. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two additions of milk, and beating until combined after each.
  9. Fill each cupcake liner three-quarters full.
  10. Bake 20 minutes.
  11. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool completely before removing cupcakes.
  12. Top with cinnamon sugar crunchy topping and cinnamon cream cheese frosting.
  13. Refrigerate until ready to serve. Set out 20 minutes before serving
Cinnamon Sugar Crunchy Topping:
  1. In a small bowl melt butter.
  2. In another small bowl combine the sugar and cinnamon.
  3. When cupcakes are completely cooled brush melted butter on the tops and dip into the cinnamon sugar mixture.
Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting:
  1. In a medium bowl, beat butter and cream cheese until light.
  2. Mix in vanilla and cinnamon; add confectioners’ sugar 1 cup at a time until all is incorporated.
  3. If the frosting gets too thick, add milk a few drops at a time until it reaches desired consistency.

 

I chose the Mexican Spicy Hot Chocolate Cake because I always think of chile peppers and spicy chocolate. I didn’t actually see them cut the cake before I left but apparently there was a very small sliver at the end of the party. This was fun to make too but I did accidentaly use Paprika instead Cayenne Pepper so I added both. I also frosted the entire thing versus just layers.

20160221_112552

 

Mexican Spicy Hot Chocolate Cake adapted from Tough Cookie

  Cake:

1.5 cups flour

1.5 cups sugar

2/3 cup dark unsweetened cocoa powder (not Dutch-processed)

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp cayenne powder

3/4 cup buttermilk, room temperature

2/3 cup hot water

3/4 cup vegetable/canola/sunflower oil

1.5 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

Frosting:

1/2 cup (115g) softened butter

60g semi-sweet or dark chocolate, melted

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cayenne powder

1 cup (100g) confectioner’s sugar

2-3 Tbs buttermilk

Cake:
  1. Preheat oven to 350° F (180°C). Spray the bottom of two 8-inch round cake pans with cooking spray and line bottoms with parchment rounds. Set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, sift flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and cayenne.
  3. In a medium bowl or measuring cup, combine the buttermilk, water, oil, and vanilla, and then mix in eggs.
  4. Add liquid mixture to dry ingredients and whisk until smooth, about 1 minute. Divide batter equally among the two cake pans.
  5. Bake until a wooden pick inserted into the centre of the cake comes out with a only a few crumbs, about 23 minutes. Try not to over-bake. Let cakes cool in pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes, and then turn onto rack to cool completely.
Frosting:
  1. Place butter in a large bowl and beat with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add the melted chocolate and vanilla, and cayenne, and beat to incorporate. Sift in the icing sugar, stir. Add the buttermilk 1 Tbs at a time, until the frosting reaches your desired consistency.

Assembly:

  1. Carve the two cakes to where they align before frosting. This will help with keeping them together.
  2. Put the bottom down and frost the top and then put on second layer. After both layers are on, frost the rest of the cake.

 

Leave a Reply

